In connection to your participation at PBE2018 there are various opportunities for young scientist, PhD students and Post Docs to receive a grant that covers expenses in relation to either or both registration, travel and accommodation.

See the various opportunities below and please pay attention to the individual deadlines for the grant/awards. All award winners and grant receivers will be announced on this website.

1) 2 x EPSO Young Plant Scientist Awards 2018 for PhD students
2) 2 x FESPB awards for young scientists
3) 20 x PBE2018 support grants for excellent PhD students or PostDocs
4) 20 x FESPB travel grants for graduate students and young Post Docs


EPSO Young Plant Scientist Awards 2018 for PhD students

EPSO wishes to encourage the development of ideas and imaginative thinking in the plant sciences and, therefore, offers two awards to PhD-students planning to attend the PBE2018 conference.

Requirements for applicants:
• To be eligible, applicants should be working in an institute/university that has EPSO institutional membership. Follow the link to see the list of EPSO members.  
• Applicants must submit application form incl. abstract, CV and a statement why your research is interesting, important and innovative.

Awardee receives:
• The awardees are invited to give a 30 minutes talk during the PBE2018 conference.
• EPSO YPS Award certificate, free registration for PBE2018, travel reimbursement (max. 400 €) and 200 €.

Deadline for application: CLOSED

Congratulations to the two winners of this year's EPSO Young Plant Scientist Award: Shumei Wang was selected on fundamental plant research and Andreas Carstensen on applied plant research.

FESPB awards for young researchers

The FESPB Awards are the federation’s most prestigious awards. Two FESPB Awards are given to young scientists chosen from nominations put forward by each of the constituent societies of the FESPB or the applications directly submitted to FESPB.

Requirements for applicants:
• Nominations should be put forward by each of the constituent societies, through the national representatives, or senior members of the FESPB.
• The candidate has completed his/her Ph.D. no more than six years before the start of PBE2018.

Awardee receives:
• Free registration for PBE2018 and €1500 for travel and accommodation
• The awardees are invited to give a 30 minutes talk during the PBE2018 conference.

To nominate a candidate please fill out and send the following forms to

• Nomination form 

Deadline for nomination: March 9, 2018

PBE2018 Support grants for PhD students and Post Docs

PBE2018 hands out 20 support grants for PhD students and Post Docs. The grant receiver is selected on basis of the submitted abstracted by the Scientific Organizing Committee and given with atttention to:

  • Scientific novelty and quality of submitted abstract
  • If submitter comes underrepresented European countries
  • Gender

Grant receiver gets: Free registration

Please be aware that you cannot apply for this grant since it is given on basis of abstracts. Winners will be notified via email medio-ultimo April.

FESPB travel grants for students and post-docs

FESPB hands out 20 travel grants for graduate students and young post-docs from European countries that are member of FESBP.

Grant receiver gets: Free registration and accommodation for four nights on a shared basis. Travel grant winners will pay for their own travel cost.

Requirements for candidates:
• Candidate is registered at a European university as graduate student (masters or doctorate) in Plant Biology
• The University is situated in a country, that is member of FESPB  and have paid the respective fees. Follow the link to see full list of members.
• Students who were supported for the PBE2016 conference in Prague are not eligible for funding in 2018



Congratulations to the following FESPB travel grant receivers:

1 Amitrano Chiara Italy
2 Aničić Neda Serbia
3 Berenguer Eduardo Spain
4 Buzunović Jelena Serbia
5 Chantseva Veronika Russia
6 Czégény Gyula Hungary
7 Gaàl Eszter Hungary
8 Gerna Davide Austria
9 Gorshkova Daria Russia
10 Janda Martin Czech Republic
11 Màtai Anikò Hungary
12 Paradisone Valeria Italy
13 Perez Perez Yolanda Spain
14 Quiroga Garcìa Gabriela Spain
15 Silva Helena Portugal
16 Soares Cristiano Portugal
17 Sobieszczuk-Nowicka Ewa Poland
18 Sobuj Norul Scandinavian/Finland
19 Sosoi Paraschiva Paula Germany
20 Torres Lopes Susana Portugal


PBE Bomªrke RGB 72 dpi EPSOlogo FESPB